Gluten Free · Main Meals · Recipes · Side dishes · Snacks · Starters

Sausage Rolls


Sausage Rolls

Sausage rolls are my go to party food. I am reminded of my childhood whenever I see the little parcels of deliciousness. I must admit these aren’t quite the same as ones wrapped in flakey, buttery puff pastry, but they are still great! I always make the filling differently, you can get creative with flavours and ingredients.

Equipment required

1 lrg shallow bowl 

1 mixing bowl 

1 lined baking tray 

1 grater 

Shopping list makes about 18

6 rice paper rolls 

4 large thick GF sausages 

1 carrot 

1 onion 

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tbsp tomato paste 

Seasoning 

1 egg 

Method to the madness 

Preheat the oven to 180C

Skin the sausages and add to the bowl 

Grate the carrot and onion, add to the bowl along with all the remaining ingredients apart from the egg & rice papers 

Mix the ingredients together, I use my hands 

Add hot water to the shallow bowl and dunk the rice paper sheets in one at a time. Once wet and pliable  lay the rice paper down, wet another and lay it on top 

Lay 1/3 of the sausage meat onto the rice paper and roll 

Slice the roll into six and set onto the lined baking tray 

Repeat the process with the remaining mixture and rice paper 

Brush the sausage rolls with a beaten egg and bake in the oven for around 30-40 minutes 

Serve hot or cold with your fav low carb tomato sauce 

ENJOY! 

Leave a comment