Bits & Bobs

Diary of a Glutton: Part 1

20121209-223354.jpg

I have failed to write any new recipes or in fact really cook any blog/diet appropriate food for the past 2 weeks. I blame this on my weak will, my rubber arm, my greedy stomach and my love for the enemy.

My parents have arrived to visit from Australia, I have known of the impending visit for some time. I had planned on being strong while they were here and only indulging when I must… Fail.

Day 1: there are some chocolates not available in the UK that I HAD to have, of a fun sized bag containing 12 Picnic’s there are maybe 2 left.

Day 2: one of my fave restaurants in London is Yautcha, delish dim sum, excellent cocktails, but pricey. Come lunch time on their second day the idea of Yautcha was mentioned. With purse strings in mind we headed instead to Ping Pong, Bread St.

Here we were greeted with steaming parcels of goodness, delicately wrapped juicy prawns, subtle shu mai, heavily deep fried spring rolls and fluffy char sui buns, to name a few. The perfect ending to the 500 step climb to the top of St Pauls.

Day 3: for my birthday a couple of years ago my family and I were lucky enough to get a reservation at Heston Blumenthal’s Fat Duck in Bray. A gorgeous little town, Bray is also blessed to be the home of a Roux family restaurant, The Waterside Inn. We vowed to get back to the quaint village, and that we did.

The picture above is my gorgeous step daughter enjoying her dessert. She must be the luckiest girl in the world because not only is she eating at a 3 star restaurant at 4 years old, but they took her into the kitchen to help create her dessert, she met Alan Roux!

The Waterside Inn is well deserved of it’s 3 stars, exquisite food and truly memorable service. We dined on the 3 course menu, canapés to start were made with precision detail and packed with flavour.

For entree I had carpaccio of venison with foie gras, the finely sliced venison had a rich gamey flavour that complemented the silky foie gras excellently.

Main saw the team of waiter’s place down my idea of heaven, suckling pig and pork belly! The jus surrounding was sublime, both the belly and suckling pig had distinct flavour differences but the dish was harmonious on the palette. The mix of textures excited, the crackling my fave bit, of course!

Dessert was a chestnut mousse with pear sorbet, I wasn’t blown away by the mousse, the texture was a little grainy for me but the overall standard was excellent.

Coffee was served alongside petit fours that delighted to no end, even after all the excellent dishes before. In particular I had a sweet spot
for the madeleine.

I cannot speak more highly of the staff, I was nervous to bring a 4 year old but they accommodated her effortlessly. A memorable experience indeed.

Part 2 begins tomorrow with a trip to Dinner by Heston… Will I survive this holiday period? I am not so sure my jeans will.

Leave a Reply

