Gluten Free · Main Meals · Recipes · Sauces

Yummy Curry Sauce

20120814-153815.jpg

Yummy Curry Sauce

I started eating Indian food from restaurants towards the end of my high school years. My mother had always made curry’s at home but I don’t remember ever going to a restaurant or ordering takeaway. I was introduced to this world of yumminess by my best friend. I noticed that when we ate curry she never ate the meat, only the sauce. I followed this trend savouring the rich sauces smothered all over my rice or dribbling down my naan bread. So this is a recipe for her, a yummy curry sauce that can be eaten as is, poured over your desired protein or veg or as a dip for onion bahji’s and papadum’s.

Equipment required

1 hand blender
1 medium deep base saucepan

Shopping list makes a generous portion of sauce

1 tsp of vege oil
1 tsp of ground cumin, cardamon and corriander
2 tsp of mild curry powder
1 tbsp of tomato paste
1 tsp of grated ginger
2 cloves of crushed garlic
1/2 an onion
1 tin of tomatoes
1/2 tin of water
1/2 chicken or vege stock cube
5 dried apricots, roughly diced
1/2 cup of low fat cream

Method to the madness

Heat up the saucepan to a medium heat, add the oil

Add the spices and toast for 1 min

Add the tomato paste, garlic and ginger and cook for a further 1-2 mins

Add in the onion and cook until it has softened

Add in the tin of tomatoes, water, stock cube and apricots, simmer for 5 mins

Blend the mixture until you get a smooth consistency

Add in the cream, turn the pan to low and leave to simmer for 15 mins

Serve over your fav protein or non starchy veg. I served mine with eggplant and cauliflower. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

