Diet · Dukan Friendly

Doing the Dukan, Day 3

20120530-144739.jpg

Doing the Dukan, Day 3

Well I am happy to say that I am in the last day of the Attack Phase on the Dukan diet. I am not going to lie, it hasn’t been a pleasant experience. One of my passions is cooking, the other is eating, food makes me happy and being able to eat delicious food makes me ecstatic. The last 3 days have taken away the enjoyment of cooking, having to follow a very strict guideline limits the options for meals greatly. My love of eating has also diminished. I actually just don’t want to eat, because I am so uninspired but what I can eat. I cannot wait to sink my teeth into one of the juicy tomatoes that is sitting atop my kitchen bench tomorrow!

To be fair the weight loss I was promised has happened. This morning I was 61kgs, but I do not feel any smaller. If anything, I actually feel more bloated than usual, I assume due to the low fibre content of my meals.

So, the attack phase did deliver in terms of weight loss… I also expect to see another drop in weight tomorrow. However, I am still not convinced by the science. The 0% yoghurts, that are loaded with sugars, and can be eaten without restriction, would tip the scales of the carb count in a diet such as Atkins. In the initial phase of Atkins you are allowed to eat non starchy veges, as long as you have no more than 20g of net carbs per day. If I had added non starchy veges to my meals, not had all the yoghurts but kept all else the same, I dare say I would have seen similar results and been a much happier person.

Meal plan today
Breakfast
Oat bran galette, egg and ham
0% yoghurt, pear
Lunch
Lemon & thyme chicken breast with quark
0% yoghurt, raspberry
Dinner
Chicken meatballs
0% yoghurt, vanilla with cinnamon

Leave a Reply

