Gluten Free · Main Meals · Recipes

Tomato & Coconut Prawns

20120419-125330.jpg

Tomato & Coconut Prawns

This dish combines some of my favourite flavours to produce a subtle but tasty bowl of happiness. I don’t use much seafood in my cooking, because I am not a huge seafood lover. I only started eating it about 4 years ago, out of politeness really. When I first moved to London I was taken to a lot of asian restaurants and seafood was always ordered. I winced at first, and gagged a few times, but discovered that I like prawns if they are cooked from green, the pre cooked ones in the shell are too fishy for me. I like certain types of white fish, calamari and scallops if I am feeling adventurous. I have tried an abundance of seafood, I believe you have to try everything at least once. I also believe if you didn’t like something a few years ago, it doesn’t mean you won’t like it now. Seafood is an excellent source of low-fat protein for low carbers and if it is sustainably sourced then it has little impact on the environment. I am going to try to include one seafood dish a week, I hope those of you who normally don’t eat seafood give some of them a go.

Equipment required

1 medium deep base saucepan
1 hand blender, chopping attachment

Shopping list for 2-3 people

300g of de shelled green prawns
1 stalk of lemon grass
1 green chilli, de-seeded if you like it mild
1cm cube of ginger
5 pecans
1 tbsp of tomato paste
1/2 tsp palm sugar
1 tsp coconut oil
4 salad (spring) onions, discard most of the green tips
2 handfuls of baby spinach
1 tin of chopped tomatoes
50g of creamed coconut
Salt & white pepper

Method to the madness

Devein the prawns and set to the side. Peel the ginger, discard the hard outside layer of lemon grass and chop into 3 or 4 sections, prepare the chilli, add those to the hand blender with the tom paste, palm sugar and pecans. Blend until the ingredients are finely chopped

Heat the saucepan to a medium heat, add the coconut oil, once it has liquified add the ingredients from the hand blender. Cook the mixture off for 2 minutes

Add the tin of tomatoes and seasoning, turn to a medium-low heat and leave this to simmer for a further 10 minutes

Blitz the spring onions in the hand blender and add to the mixture. Add the creamed coconut and let it melt through, taste for seasoning after adding it

Add in the spinach, once it has wilted, add the prawns and cook through until they are pink

Take off the heat and serve with your favourite low carb sides, I recommend some asian greens. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

