Gluten Free · Paleo Diet Friendly · Recipes · Sauces · Side dishes

Genovese Pesto

20120413-143302.jpg

Genovese Pesto

I keep mentioning our trip to Portofino, I promise this is the last time. I HAD to make pesto after coming back from the region where it is said to have originated. It is very easy to make if you have a hand blender. If you have any built up frustrations you want to bang out, you could use a mortar and pestle. When I tasted the pesto my palette was affronted with raw garlic. It was then I realised that tossing the pesto through hot pasta is probably what stripped the pesto of the raw flavour. So to add heat I used the pesto to coat warm chicken. If I was going to use it without heat, for example as a dip with crudités, I would cook the garlic first. I don’t know if this would equate to blasphemy in Italy though… maybe I would just use 1 less clove. I will make it again with different variations and report back.

Equipment required

Hand blender, chopping attachment, or mortar and pestle

Shopping list

2 cloves of garlic
15 large basil leaves
2 tbsp pine nuts
5 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp of grated parmesan
Salt

Method to the madness

Peel the garlic and process for a few seconds, repeat the process with the ingredients in the order listed here. Do not process after the Parmesan has been added. Taste the pesto and add salt if required. ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Genovese Pesto

    1. It is delish! I am also going to use it in some stuffed courgette flowers I am doing tonight. I just checked out your blog, love that pink swimsuit… Wish I could look like Kendall in it 😉

Leave a Reply

