Gluten Free · Main Meals · Recipes · Sauces

Wicrapple Chicken

20120405-101814.jpg

Wicrapple Chicken

Silly name? I kind of like it, I feel like one of those celebs that go against the grain when they name their child! I called it this because I couldn’t think of a name that wasn’t long winded and boring. Basically it’s the ingredients of the sauce, Wine, cream and apple. Anyway, I digress. This recipe is along the lines of my fav dinner as a kid. My mum, Mrs F, used to make it and I still request it when I go home. I served this with roast celeriac, steamed broccoli and corn. The sauce would also work will with pork, or exchange the wine for cider, mmmmmmm.

Equipment needed

1 medium non stick fry pan with lid

Shopping list for 2 people

2 large chicken breasts
2 cloves of garlic
1 green apple
1/2 cup of white wine
1/2 cup of water
1/2 chicken stock cube
100ml of low fat cream
Sprinkle of thyme, dried or fresh
Seasoning

Method to the madness

Cook the chicken breasts on a medium heat with the lid on so they remain moist. Once cooked remove from the pan

While the chicken is cooking peel and cube the apple, a small cube is best for this recipe, so it cooks through properly

Add the garlic, apple, wine, water and stock cube to the pan, turn to a high heat and let about 1/3 of the mixture evaporate

Add the cream and a sprinkle of thyme. Keep it on a high heat, let the cream come to the boil, then turn down and reduce the sauce to your desired consistency, taste for seasoning. The stock cubes I use are salty so I just add pepper here

Carve the chicken into thick slices, add any juices that come out of the chicken to the sauce. You can either serve the chicken onto the plate and pour the sauce over, or place all the chicken into the sauce so it gets evenly coated. Dish up with you favourite side. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

